Three Ethiopian revolutionists who deposed Haile Selassie in 1974 coup

May 28, 2023 (GSN) -Today marks the 32nd years anniversary of the Downfall of the Derg regime on 28 May 1991 in Addis Ababa.

Aman Mikael Andom, Tafari Benti, and Mengistu Haile Mariam were three Derg Ethiopian revolutionists who plotted a rebellion against and deposed Haile Selassie I in Jubilee Palace on 12 September 1974, marking the coup d'etat's action on that day and the assumption of power by the military junta known as the Derg.

Aman Mikael Andom ( አማን ሚካኤል አንዶም)  born 21 June 1924 – 23 November 1974)] was an Ethiopian general of Eritrean origin and the first post-imperial acting head of state of Ethiopia. Aman was also the first Chairman of the Derg. He was appointed to this position following the coup d'état that ousted Emperor Haile Selassie on 12 September 1974 and served until his death in a shootout with his former supporters.

Acting 1st Chairman of the Derg and Head of State of Ethiopia in office 17 November 1974 – 28 November 1974.

Preceded by Haile Selassie (Emperor)

Succeeded by Tafari Benti

Brigadier General Tafari Benti ( ተፈሪ በንቲ) born 11 October 1921 – 3 February 1977)  was an Ethiopian military officer and politician who served as head of state of Ethiopia from 1974 to 1977 in his role as second chairman of the Derg, the ruling military junta. His official title was Chairman of the Provisional Military Administrative Council.

2nd Chairman of the Derg and Head of State of Ethiopia in office 03 February 1977 – 10 September 1987

Preceded by Aman Mikael Andom 

Succeeded by Mengistu Haile Mariam 

Mengistu Haile Mariam (መንግሥቱ ኀይለ ማሪያም) born 21 May 1937) is an Ethiopian former politician and former army officer who was the head of state of Ethiopia from 1977 to 1991 and General Secretary of the Workers' Party of Ethiopia from 1984 to 1991. He was the 3rd chairman of the Derg, the socialist military junta that governed Ethiopia, from 1977 to 1987, and the president of the People's Democratic Republic of Ethiopia (PDRE) from 1987 to 1991.

General Secretary of the Workers’ Party of Ethiopia in office 12 September 1984 – 21 May 1991

Preceded by Tafari Benti

Succeeded by Meles Zenawi

Connect with us